The winner of Miss Great Britain is……………….

25 Nov 2013

Congratulations to the winner of Miss Great Britain 2013 Miss South Yorkshire Ashley Powell. The two runners-up were Miss Mansfield Chelcie Mayhew, and Miss Wolverhampton Krisina Jagpal. Ashley will now be representing England at Miss Tourism World in 2014 at an exotic venue to be decided.

Congratulations also to the winner of Miss Great Britain’s Got Talent, Hannah Higgins, ho played the piano, horse rode and included clips from her charity work out in Gambia.

And the winners of the StarNow Global Model Search 2013 are…

18 Nov 2013

In September we held our second StarNow Global Model Search, joining forces again with three of the world’s top modelling agencies, Models1 (UK), L.A. Models (US), and Vivien’s Model Management (AUS) who have launched the careers of some of the world’s biggest models, including Bar Refaeli, Tony Ward and Kristy Hinze.

We were inundated with over 6,500 amazing entries! Thanks to all of you who entered. And so without further ado, the winners are:

Jebediah Shorten (overall winner) and Sandra Callahan (development winner.)

A huge congratulations from all of us here at StarNow! Jebediah and Sandra will be represented by Vivien’s Model Management. We will keep you all updated on their progress.

Interview with HollyShorts winner, Mitsuyo Miyazaki

14 Nov 2013

We had an opportunity to interview HollyShorts 2013 Best Film Winner, Mitsuyo Miyazaki. Find out how she cast her short film Tsuyako, what elements she thinks helps a short film get noticed and heaps more.

Read the interview

Special Screening and Q&A with Oscar Accredited Filmmakers

8 Nov 2013

StarNow, in association with the New Zealand Film Commission, will be hosting a special screening of the Oscar accredited short films, Tsuyako and Ellen is Leaving. Tsuyako has screened at over 70 film festivals worldwide, winning 42 awards including Best Film at the 2013 HollyShorts Film Festival, while Ellen is Leaving recently won Best Narrative Short at the 2013 South by Southwest Film Festival.

The screening on Wednesday 20 November at the Film Archive will also include a Q&A with Tsuyako director Mitsuyo Miyazaki and producer Jacob Halajian all the way from the US and Ellen is Leaving director Michelle Saville.

Book your tickets here.

About the Filmmakers
Mitsuyo Miyazaki is a writer-director, whose directorial debut short film Tsuyako has screened at over 70 film festivals worldwide, winning 42 awards and 2 nominations including DGA Award for the Best Female Student Filmmaker, Best International Short Film at 2 Academy Award qualified festivals, Future Filmmaker's Award and Audience Award at Palm Springs International Short Fest, and Best Film at the 2013 HollyShorts Film Festival. Her most recent Live Action/Animated short film A Better Tomorrow was produced by The Weinstein Company and sponsored by Lexus, premiered at the 2013 Festival de Cannes.

Michelle Saville is a New Zealand director whose most recent short Ellen Is Leaving was a finalist in the 'New Zealand's Best' Short Film Programme at the 2012 New Zealand International Film Festival and went on to screen In-Competition at the Chicago International Film Festival. It also received the Best Narrative Short award at the 2013 South by Southwest Film Festival.

The winners of Show Me Shorts 2013 have been announced

7 Nov 2013

Show Me Shorts is New Zealand’s annual national film festival, showcasing the best new short films from Aotearoa and around the world. Each year, from hundreds of entries, the 40 best films are selected to play in the festival and contend for awards, including the StarNow Best Actor Award. We're excited that this year's winners have just been announced! The winners are...

StarNow Best Actor Award: Andy Anderson for 'Honk If You're Horny'
Rush Munro’s Best Film: Matt Heath, Anna Geddes, Cass Donaldson and Joe Lonie for 'Honk If You’re Horny'
Panavision Best Cinematographer: John Chrisstoffels for 'Here Be Monsters'
Script to Screen & NZ Writers Guild Best Screenplay: Nic Gorman for 'Here Be Monsters'
SDGNZ Best Director: Joe Lonie for 'Honk If You're Horny'
SDGNZ Best Editor: Thomas Gleeson for 'Home'
RPM Pictures Best Colourist:Jon Newell, Chris Rudkin and Erin Woolhouse for 'Here Be Monsters'
Mexicali Fresh Best Student Film Award: Walter Lawry for 'Blind Mice'
NZFC Special Jury Prize: Thomas Gleeson for 'Home'
Best International Film: Michael Rittmannsberger and Simon Baumgartner for 'Abgestempelt'

Congratulations, guys - we love your work!

<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11  >>